Connect with us


Tinubu appionts Tony Aiyejina, Blessyn Brume-Ataguba ,18 others as commissioners



Bola Tinubu

President Bola Tinubu has approved the appointment of Tony Aiyejina, Blessyn Brume-Ataguba, and 18 other qualified Nigerians to serve as Federal Commissioners in the National Population Commission (NPC).

This was disclosed in a statement signed by Ajuri Ngelale, Special Adviser to the President, Media & Publicity, on Wednesday.

According to the statement, the new appointees, who are drawn from various states across the country, include Hon. Emmanuel Trump Eke (Abia), Bishop Alex Ukam (Cross River), Dr. Jeremiah Ogbonna Nwankwegu (Ebonyi), and Ms. Sa’adatu Dogon Bauchi Garba (Kaduna).

Others include Dr. Aminu Ibrahim Tsanyawa (Kano), Hon. Yori Afolabi (Kogi), Hon. Olakunle Sobukola (Ogun), Hon. Temitayo Oluseye Oluwatuyi (Ondo), Ms. Mary Ishaya Afan (Plateau), and Mr. Ogiri Itotenaan Henry (Rivers).

According to Ngelale, the reappointed commissioners include Dr. Clifford Zirra (Adamawa), Mr. Chidi Ezeoke (Anambra), Isa Buratai (Borno), Dr. Tony Aiyejina (Edo), Mr. Ejike Ezeh (Enugu), Abubakar Damburam (Gombe), Prof. Uba Nnabue (Imo), Mudashiru Hussain (Osun), and Mr. Saany Sale (Taraba).


The President urged the new and returning NPC Federal Commissioners to successfully implement all measures taken by his administration to produce and effectively appropriate accurate population data with which lasting solutions to Nigeria’s socio-political and economic challenges can be conclusively developed and executed.